Back to Faculty Directory
Photo of Mullins, C. Buddie
Office Location: CPE 4.418

C. Buddie Mullins


Melvin H. Gertz Regents Chair in Chemical Engineering

Department Research Areas:
Advanced Materials, Polymers and Nanotechnology

Research Group Website

Research Presentation for Prospective Graduate Students

Educational qualifications

Post-Doctoral Studies, IBM Almaden Research Center, Physical Sciences Division (1989-1991)
Ph.D. Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology (1990)
B.S. Chemical Engineering, The University of Tennessee at Knoxville (1982)
M.S., Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin (1977)
B.S., Physics,  The University of Texas at Austin (1975)

Courses Taught

CHE 353 Transport Phenomena
CHE 384 Electrochemistry


Materials Chemistry for Energy studies regarding solar photoelectrocatalysis, catalysis of nano-structured surfaces, and materials for lithium-ion and sodium-ion battery electrodes.


The Mullins research group is studying (i) the chemistry of nano-structured surfaces with goals of learning more about catalysis, (ii) the growth and characterization of nanostructured films with applications in photoelectrocatalysis for the production of fuels from sunlight, and (iii) the discovery and characterization of electrode materials for lithium-ion and sodium-ion batteries.

Awards & Honors

  • Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company Award for Excellence in Engineering Teaching, University of Texas at Austin, 2004
  • Union Carbide Corporation Research Innovation Recognition Award for Catalysis, Charleston, West Virgina, 1999
  • Texas Excellence Teaching Award for Most Outstanding Teaching in the College of Engineering (UT Ex-Students Association), 1999
  • Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, University of Texas at Austin, 1993-96
  • National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award, University of Texas at Austin, 1991-1996
  • Martin Marietta Energy Systems Publication Award, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 1986
  • Union Carbide Corporation Award for Outstanding Achievement in Science and Engineering, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 1983
  • Conference of Southern Graduate Schools Achievement Award for New Scholars, 1994

Selected Publications

  • Kyle C. Klavetter, Jonathan L. Snider, J. Pedro de Souza, Han Tu, Trevor H. Cell, Joon Hee Cho, Christopher J. Ellison, Adam Heller, and C. Buddie Mullins, “A free-standing thin, flexible lithium-ion anode formed from an air-dried slurry cast of high tap density SnO2, CMC polymer binder and Super-P Li,” J. Mater. Chem. A 2, 14459-14467 (2014).
  • Kyle C. Klavetter, Stephany Garcia, Naween Dahal, Jonathan L. Snider, J. Pedro de Souza, Trevor H. Cell, Mark A. Cassara, Adam Heller, Simon M. Humphrey, and C. Buddie Mullins, “Li- and Na-reduction products of meso-Co3O4 form high-rate, stably cycling battery anode materials,” J. Mater. Chem. A 2, 14209-14221 (2014).
  • Wen-Yueh Yu, Gregory M. Mullen, David W. Flaherty, and C. Buddie Mullins, “Selective hydrogen production from formic acid decomposition on Pd-Au bimetallic surfaces,” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 136, 11070-11078 (2014).
  • Gregory M. Mullen, Liang Zhang, Edward J. Evans Jr., Ting Yan, Graeme Henkelman, and C. Buddie Mullins, “Oxygen and hydroxyl species induce multiple reaction pathways for the partial oxidation of allyl alcohol on gold,” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 136, 6489-6498 (2014).
  • Stephen E. Fosdick, Sean P. Berglund, C. Buddie Mullins, and Richard M. Crooks, “Evaluating electrocatalysts for the hydrogen evolution reaction using bipolar electrode arrays: Bi- and trimetallic combinations of Co, Fe, Ni, Mo, and W,” ACS Catal. 4, 1332-1339 (2014).
  • William D. Chemelewski, Heung-Chan Lee, Jung-Fu Lin, Allen J. Bard, and C. Buddie Mullins, “Amorphous FeOOH oxygen evolution reaction catalyst for photoelectrochemical water splitting,” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 136, 2843-2850 (2014).
  • Sean P. Berglund, Huichao He, William D. Chemelewski, Hugo Celio, Andrei D. Dolocan, and C. Buddie Mullins, “p-Si/W2C and p-Si/W2C/Pt photocathodes for the hydrogen evolution reaction,” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 136, 1535-1544 (2014).